18 Responses to “Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu)”

  1. Aaron Wakling April 23, 2008 at 12:45 am #

    Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.

    Aaron Wakling

  2. chuff joe April 29, 2008 at 12:06 am #

    Yeah- they just screwed me too- I went to the branch to sign up for their “Wamu Free Checking account”. Instead apparently they signed me up for the “Free Checking account” which is apparently different and have charged me $33 in fees for things that should have been free. When I complained they refused to reimburse me but instead changed my account type, which immediately – without warning or asking me first- canceled my ATM card, leaving me without cash for 10 days until they can get me a new one. Not so convenient to do right before I was leaving town on vacation!

  3. Bryce May 7, 2008 at 11:51 pm #

    Just to help things a little bit. I used to work for WaMu. My office closed down with consolidations, but that’s neither here nor there. The no atm fees isn’t misleading actually. The issue with the situation was that you didn’t go into a branch to open your account. Had you, you would’ve known that WaMu waives ATM fees on transactions. A mini statement isn’t considered a transaction. Now, I’m not sure why any ATM would charge you for a balance inquiry, but WaMu doesn’t charge you, but the other bank will.

    I think it’s just a matter you not getting the proper education because you opened your account online as opposed to inside a branch.

    Not to mention, the OD fees are only $34 but they’re cheaper than any other bank out there. Do the research on it, it’s true.

  4. Bryce May 7, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    A real quick response to chuff joe….I’m not sure how you didn’t get the WaMu free checking if it’s a new account. WaMu doesn’t have a standard free checking account that’s not the WaMu Free Checking. If it was an old account, it’s easy to change the product code for it without having the hassle of canceling cards and what have you.

    A little confused on that one.

  5. TruXter May 8, 2008 at 12:12 am #

    Bryce, you might want to go to the site and create an account, it will not cost you anything but a dollar. Would be nice if you “re-educate” yourself and then come back.

    Here is a copy and paste from my bank statement online “5/5/2008 *OVERDRAFT CHARGE $35.00 ”

    Strange you say it’s less than other banks. I would like you to list a few that are higher than $35. I don’t see any over $20.
    I can go to shell and buy gas on the debit/credit card without using pin code, and the charge will not show in my account for almost a week, with Wamu. If I use the card from the bank I ran to and did the exact same charge at the exact same store, it at least shows PENDING. In my account before I can even get home.

  6. Bryce May 8, 2008 at 5:05 am #

    What area are you from, if you don’t mind me asking? In Chicago, WaMu is the lowest compared to B of A, Chase, Harris, and TCF.

    As for your Shell gas station scenario, it has nothing to do with the bank. That’s Shell’s merchant payment system. It’s unrelated to the bank. And the entire amount of the gas transaction wouldn’t come out, only a dollar would. I think you don’t realize what it’s actually doing. And yes, WaMu does have pending status but not on everything. Again, it’s how the merchant system is set up, nothing to do with the bank. That’s like blaming the bank for an unauthorized transaction that goes through your account. Before you say anything, yes, customers do blame the bank for it.

  7. TruXter May 8, 2008 at 5:22 am #

    It will only show a dollar as a reserve, if you use it at the pump. It will show an exact total if you use it inside the store through the cashier.
    Texas.

  8. Bryce May 8, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    That is correct. And, maybe in Texas, the fees are a dollar higher than in Illinois. And, I’m also not familiar with other banks in Texas outside of B of A. I do know that Texas laws are alot different than any other state’s laws, but I don’t have to tell you that. Now, the only thing I can say is that the 1800 customer service rep was way out of line to you. That one, I’d for sure report the next time it happens. That’s unprofessional and shouldn’t be tolerated.

  9. Taraneh June 20, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    I just got off the phone with WAMU after noticing some fees I wasn’t expecting. ATM Withdrawl fees!!! I have been with washington mutual since 2001 and they explanined to be that it was FREE checking. Purhaps I never Noticed those $2 fees before, like the rep accused me of. OR maybe they are being SHADY and ripping people off, like I accused them of! I was told that the new “free checking” feature came into play in 2006, however I never had been charged for checks, never charged for ATM withdrawls before AND specifically remember the person that helped me in 2001 saying I wouldn’t be charged any fees, “its a FREE CHECKING”. Thats what makes them different from other banks! ha!!!! Whatever!!!
    I am irritated with this bank and totally feel decieved and ROBBED!! Ok, ok, so what if I never realized the fees they say I was always charged, IF, if what they said was true about in 2006 inplimenting this new “no charge for withdrawls at other bankss, etc”, why would they not switch people over. NO!!!, they continue to charge people fees, thinking, OH yeah, they aren’t authorized to change someone’s account. Well, why would they want to anyway, they are collecting on all the fees they get with your type of checking acount which CLEARY states on it “FREE CHECKING”. Such a lie!!!!!!! I have always recommended this bank to people before. I was with antoher bank before I started banking at WAMU and thought they were so different and honest!!! And its not true!! Not believe their lies, watch your back AND your money!

  10. Samuel September 21, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    Yeah, I agree tons of crooks out there. I can’t stand some of Washington Mutual’s new ads about Free Checking. They have fees for just about everything, wouldn’t be surprised if they’re charging now to open an account.

  11. Samuel September 21, 2008 at 2:22 am #

    Yeah, I agree tons of crooks out there. I can’t stand some of Washington Mutual’s new ads about Free Checking. They have fees for just about everything, wouldn’t be surprised if they’re charging now to open an account.

    Check this site out for some of the best checking accounts out there.

    http://www.topcheckingaccounts.com

  12. marsha turner August 24, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    lmao. i read what u had wrote about the lady that called u an idiot? that was to funny.i like the way u speak ur mind about the banks.they do charge to much 4 over drafts, but the way they did u, was soooooo wrong.there not supposed to charge nothing if u use the bank ur using at a atm.i would like to say, you go girl.

  13. online department stores March 16, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    I cherished as much as you’ll obtain performed proper here. The comic strip is tasteful, your authored material stylish. however, you command get got an shakiness over that you would like be handing over the following. sick for sure come more in the past again since precisely the same nearly very ceaselessly inside case you shield this increase.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) - April 23, 2008

    […] Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) I on the other hand have an account at another bank and it was a snap to use routing numbers blah blah yadda, and transfer funds to the wamu account. If I would have used a credit card, the least I could have transfered would have been … […]

  2. Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) - April 23, 2008

    […] Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) Taken From, My site I signed up to Washington mutual after a friend of mine suggested I give the online regestration a try. I was really impressed with how easy it was to set up my account. My friend did not have a current back account for some reason or another so he had to go to a wamu in person and do his first deposit in person. I on the other hand have an account at another bank and it was a snap to use routing numbers blah blah yadda, and transfer funds to the wamu account. If I would h […]

  3. Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) - April 23, 2008

    […] admin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI was really impressed with how easy it was to set up my account. My friend did not have a current back account for some reason or another so he had to go to a wamu in person and do his first deposit in person. … […]

  4. » Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) Chase Credit Card on Credit Speak: Find Info, News and More on Chase Credit Card - April 23, 2008

    […] Checking Account (wamu) Posted in April 23rd, 2008 by in Uncategorized Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) Taken From, My site I signed up to Washington mutual after a friend of mine suggested I give the […]

  5. Credit Check on The Finance World For News and Information Around The World On Finance » Blog Archive » Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) - April 23, 2008

    […] Not-So-Free Checking Account (wamu) I put a little in the free online checking and a little in the free online savings. Now we all have seen teh commercials with a skinny dude and the butt load of snotty bankers who want to charge atm fees and check fees and all of that, … […]

Leave a comment