Open Source Social network

13 Jul

I am in search of a social networking “template” to use on one of my sites.

I have seen a few on sourceforge but man they are rough,

allot of them do not even have screenshots.

I found that Chris Pirillo was looking for something along that same line

last year. As of right now, he has not yet found anything either. I even sent an email to make sure

he replied with  a simple “nothing yet”   So as my head thumps from looking

at so many .. I have to turn to the masses.

Do you have anything i  can test drive ?

3 Responses to “Open Source Social network”

  1. Larry July 24, 2008 at 12:22 am #

    Hi there,

    I found both your post and Chris’ post regarding an open source social networking platform. Do you have any leads?

    I’m really interested in a Facebook type platform for an intranet. Thanks in advance.

  2. TruXter July 24, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    I am trying out moodle. http://moodle.org/
    The latest version seems to have the best apps.

    I would like to use something better, but haven’t found on that works well.
    If you have found some that are better, but not up to your standards, post em for me, so that I can see if they fit my needs. Thanks.
    I have it running at http://iworkwithmusic.com
    I haven’t really launched the place yet because I am not sure if I want to go that route.
    but hey you can go there and see how it works. well from a visitor’s perspective.

  3. Jorge February 23, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    try searching for phpizabi (opensource social network)

Leave a Reply

